Industry News

Lewis Hamilton awarded Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

  •  - 0
  • Print

provided by


Formula One star Lewis Hamilton was presented with the sought-after Hawthorn Memorial Trophy at the MSA's Night of Champions at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London, on Friday evening.

Previous winners include the likes of John Surtees, Jack Brabham and Damon Hill. MSA Chairman Alan Gow presented Hamilton with the award in front of 150 guests from all walks of British motor sport.

The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded every year to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in Formula One. It pays tribute to the late Mike Hawthorn Britain's first Formula One World Champion who tragically died in 1959, just one year after his championship win.

Hamilton is the 18th driver to win the trophy, but the first to do so in his inaugural year.


Provided by:
Octane Magazine


Find Articles

Please select a field.







Put your passion into gear

From Customs, Chevys, Fords to the Classics, these magazines provide the latest cutting edge information to fuel your passion.


Required Information