Event Coverage

The HSCC International Trophy Meeting, Silverstone 2009

  • 1961 Morgan Plus 4 SLR - 0
  • 1978 March 782 - 1
  • 1973 Lola T332 - 2
  • 1969 Morgan Plus 8 - 3
  • 1959 Lister Costin Jaguar - 4
  • Print

provided by


Morgan's SLR comes out to race after almost 30 years in the USA

One of the star turns of the GT & Sports Car Cup entry list was Simon Orebi Gann’s 1961 Morgan Plus 4 SLR, one of only three built and indeed one of the most desirable models from the Malvern marque stable. This SLR is the oldest of the three built  and has recently returned from the USA after spending 29 years with Bill Fink. Fresh from a most impressive two year restoration to a superlative standard, the car was making its first appearance at Silverstone since 1975 when driven by Aubrey Brocklebank.

Alas, on that occasion the fuel flaps were left open and there was a small fire that was swiftly extinguished by the Silverstone fire crew. The car was later repainted in red as a tribute to the fire crew’s engine! Fitted with a 2-liter Lawrence Tune Triumph engine, Simon points out that his car is fully registered for road use as well, and he does indeed use it for shopping!

Another Morgan doing rather well in Saturday’s  Historic Road Sports Race was  James Paterson’s 1969 Plus 8, who took the checkered flag with a time of 20:21.149 over 12 laps. A fine way to celebrate Morgan’s centenary year.

Nick Shrigley-Feigl’s 1964 AC Cobra was another car that’s recently emerged from a major rebuild into a race car that’s as close as Nick can get recreate to that of Dan Gurney’s Cobra that raced in the 1964 12 hour race at Sebring.

'I smashed the Cobra to pieces in  the mid 1970’s and it lay around for 30 years, before I decided to build it into a race car,” says Nick. “The engine is fitted with 4x48 IDA carburetors and is rated at around 405bhp. It’s taken the last three years to restore the Cobra as a long distance race car to tackle 6 hour events.'

Saturday’s HSCC Lloyd’s TSB F5000 & Formula 2 Championship Race for the Derek Bell Trophy was closely fought over the first few laps by Neil Glover (Lola T330) and Sean Walker (March 782) but Walker’s March eventually got the better, and went on to win the race, with Glover finishing 2nd. Also highly entertaining was the extremely close racing between the dueling Lola T332’s of Richard Piper and Frank Lyons who finished 4th  and 5th respectively.


Find Articles

Please select a field.







Put your passion into gear

From Customs, Chevys, Fords to the Classics, these magazines provide the latest cutting edge information to fuel your passion.


Required Information